Inspiration for the Half-Alive

I went for a walk in the mountains a few months back and I took a photo of a tree that caught my attention.

34065911_1539453056165464_2873701899800936448_o

Almost half of its branches and leaves were dead but the other half held on to dear life. Little did I know that while browsing through my phone’s gallery today, I would find inspiration from this half-dead tree.

At first, I concluded that it was a tree at the brink of death. After all, most of its branches were dead and barely hung on to the trunk. It’s exactly how I felt earlier in the day.

When I looked at the photo for the nth time, it struck me. The tree isn’t half-dead. It’s half-alive! There’s a fine line between these two. Half-dead is you knowing there’s no point in hanging on because your end is near. Half-alive is you making the best out of the situation you’re in whether you make it alive to the end or not.

If you find yourself half-dead, wake yourself up! You’re still half-alive. And as long as you’re breathing, there’s a chance to change your life for the better. Don’t lose hope. The universe observes and the heavens listen.

 

A.N. Basil

One thought on “Inspiration for the Half-Alive

Leave a comment