Politics, Bridges, and Burns [UNPOPULAR OPINION]

It’s another season of politics and promises in my country as local politicians recently filed for candidacy. Some of the candidates are names not known to many while others are pretty much popular as they are celebrities who have either decided to leave the spotlight or claim to have what it takes to juggle filming and serving the country.

While I’ve never been one to really study my country’s politics, I’ve been praying for a leader who has the guts to change my country even for just a bit. Unfortunately, the leader I believe can accomplish the task succumbed to cancer in 2016. It was a painful moment for me because I sincerely believed that she would bring about the “change” I’ve long been waiting for. But, that’s all gone and done. There’s no point crying over spilled milk.

A new generation of candidates are dominating the political scenes on local news and to be honest, I’m starting to trust some of them, specifically those whose projects seem to be promising. I mean, who wouldn’t want to see younger, driven, and strong-willed politicians in office? The bigger question is, what will they do? What can they do? What will they contribute to society?

I don’t want to judge any of the younger candidates but I also don’t want to expect too much from them, after all, they’re fresh meat just about to enter the butcher’s house. If they survive the slaughter, they will come out with burns and bruises so huge no threats will scare them out of office. If they survive, they will emerge with beatings and stripes so deep no money under the table will make them give in. Their scars will supposedly give them enough will to stand for what’s right and do what’s best for their community.

So, instead of questioning their abilities, I will just trust in their potential and allow the universe to define whether they’re bridges or simply burns…

 

A.N. Basil

Leave a comment